Resurrection Day Reflections – Part 4

As I wrap up this final Pomodoro writing session of the day, I find myself reflecting on my Resurrection Day Reflections.

From Bible Study to thoughts/emotions dug up through the purging process to self-reliance and sustainability…

I have run the gamut of reflection today, which is my introspective objective I suppose.  One of the highlights of my afternoon was the conversation with my grandfather.  Moreover, it appears as though I will be writing a letter to my little brother sometime soon.  His mom gave me the go ahead and mentioned that the little dude is super stoked!  It’s nice to be a role model for a child.  Planning on moving back to Ohio gives me some reservations on committing to Big Brothers while I’m here, but at least I can contribute as a pen pal.

The move back to Ohio is on the forefront of my mind.  After leaving Ohio to move to California almost two years ago, I find myself returning (or at least planning on it).  In each place I’ve lived, I’ve been able to squeek out about three years before I am “called” back to Ohio.  This time around is no different.  My reasons for being in California have changed over the years.  Life’s transitions have assisted me with determining where it is that I want to be.  Ohio and North Carolina are a closely tied, with family giving Ohio the edge.

How I miss North Carolina, though.  Perhaps someday, I’ll return…who knows.  After almost 15 years of a gypsy-like, nomadic, wayfaring lifestyle, I feel like Ohio is the place where I want to settle and call home.  I want to help my parents grow and manage the farm they are creating. I would like to return to the nursery business and work with plants again.  I dream of  living simply.  In my dreams, I wonder if I’ll live alone.  There are few that seem to share the same value system that is an integral part of my being.

Only time will tell what will happen, and if I have my way – I’ll be sharing it here with whoever has the mental fortitude to plow through the lines of trash that I write.  Enough with the self-deprecating humor.  Perhaps there is some value in the things that I write, but I’ll never understand what it is.  I only hope that my words inspire someone to reach for something beyond their grasp and achieve something they thought they never could.

I’ve never been one for new year’s resolutions.  I believe New Year’s Resolutions are bullshit promises that we make to ourselves because we are too damned lazy and complacent to follow through on these things throughout the year.  We make a list and as we check these things off our list, we pat ourselves on the back and place ourselves on a pedestal.  Well, maybe not.  I’ll try and lay off on the sarcasm and cynicism as well.  Sometimes it’s too much for some people.  Wah.

While I’m not much for new year’s resolutions, this has been a good year for goal setting.  Towards the end of 2013, I found myself training for and completing a half-marathon.  I never really set out to become a runner, but a friend and hiking of partner was training for and running half-marathons.  She suggested that I should try and run a half marathon.  I balked at the idea first, but based on the amount of hiking I was doing and some hikes we had done together, she thought the training would be easy for me.  It turns out she was correct.  I followed her advice and training plans and we ran the Temecula Half Marathon in the beautiful wine country of the Temecula Valley in Riverside County.

 

After a successful run, we began talking and decided that since the half marathon was a pretty easy goal to achieve based on the training plan she put together for us, I suggested we simply continue the training process with the goal of running a full marathon.  She agreed and we continued training.   We discussed several different marathons we could train for, finally deciding on running the San Luis Obispo Marathon on April 6.

The buzzer has buzzed, indicating it is time for me to wrap up my writing.  With one week remaining until another goal is scratched off the list, my ultimate goal for 2013 is to move back to Ohio by the holidays.  In the meantime, I’ll be working on additional adventures in Joshua Tree National Park, Redwood National Park, Sequoya and Kings Canyon and Mt. Whitney among other places.  For the duration of the time I have here in California, I’m going to make the best of it.

Pomodoro up.

Stay tuned.

 

 

Leave a Reply

