The Practice of Living – Part 2

I ended the last post writing about the challenges that I sometimes encounter when attempting to communicate with the general populous.   This often times stems from the fact that the reality is society is simply “dumbed down” and most people choose not to allow their brains to fully engage.  This may seem like a harsh thing to say and I’ll likely offend several people that take the time to read this.  C’est la vie.

Before you go and accuse me of being arrogant, high and mighty, I’ll be the first to admit that for a long time, I also chose not to allow my brain to fully engage.  I ate food that wasn’t pure.  I watched too much television.   I drank too much alcohol.  I smoked too many cigarettes.   Too much.  Too many.  The particular vice is irrelevant, the important thing here is that we all recognize our imperfections.

We all have a particular vice or flaw.  None of us are perfect.  I write these words not to judge you for what you do, but to reflect on what I do and the positive changes I’ve made in my life.  I hope and pray that the things that resonate with me may resonate with someone else and facilitate similar change.  It is not my objective to offend, but life is best reflected upon with pure and unbiased perspective.

At any rate, back to the article, it began by providing the definition of the word “Practice.”  I began ranting about “dumbed down” people and their inability to communicate in part to people simply being ignorant of the very argument that they are trying to make.  So frequently, we allow our emotion to take over and dominate the conversation that we are involved in.  We quickly lose sight of the message we are trying to convey.  During these times, it is good to bring the conversation full circle and re-establish exactly what we are even talking about.

Danny Dreyer, the author of the article, Making Running a Practice establishes the “topic of conversation” by providing the definition of “Practice” in the very beginning of his article.  Moreover, he referenced a book by Deng Ming-Dao titled “The Daily Tao.”  I find this ironic because I have a book by the same author titled, 365 Tao: Daily Meditations.  I mention this because this book has been a consistent source of reference in my life for over 15 years.

Pomodoro up.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

