06122013 1921 594 words

06122013 1921 594 words

I find myself bumbling through this blog post.  As you read this, I am writing it, not unlike every other post.  Tonight, is slightly different in that I am experimenting with writing in that I am utilizing Microsoft Word as a writing platform instead of simply going to my WordPress blog site.

Why the change?  Recently, I have had my nose in about 10-12 books, one of which is “Start,” by Jon Acuff.  In that book, he writes about his own process of becoming a writer.  He wrote about the times that it was difficult for him to gain the motivation for writing.  This has always been a challenge for any writer – at least that is what I am aspiring to be…so I can only imagine…but I digress.

His suggestion (or at least my understanding of his suggestion) was to limit writing to 200 or 500 word blog posts.  Whether or not this was actually something that I could take from his writing remains to be seen…but for whatever reason, it seemed like a good thing to implement into my own writing routine – if, for no other reason than to mix it up a little bit.  Besides, I would like to turn this blog into a website of sorts and potentially a small business.   Why not?  Anything is possible…

After re-reading the above paragraph, I laughed at the absurdity of it and grabbed my kindle to “fact-check” myself to verify that what I was referencing was accurate.  Shortly after turning my kindle on, I set it down and said, “To hell with this.”  If you are so damn interested in the exact quote or book reference, grab the book and read it yourself.  It’s a good read and I’d suggest doing so regardless.

 

With that said, I grabbed a quick image off the interwebs to make this trash more visually appealing.  Did it work?  Very well, I’ll keep this in mind for the next post I waste time on.  Like many other aspects of my life, my writing has fallen into patterns.  I have a tendency to get comfortable in a certain aspect of my life and almost get complacent.  I often take it for granted.  If often comes back to haunt me.

Luckily, I like to think that I am learning…but much like I frequently reflect back 5 or 10 years and laugh at the error of my ways – I undoubtedly will find myself doing the same again about today as I look back and reflect in another 5 or 10 years from now.  Be that as it may, in an effort to keep walking the path of learning, I continue reading.  Jon Acuff was an author that I found out about via Dave Ramsey.

Dave Ramsey is an financial talk show host and author.  I have been a fan of Dave Ramsey for years.  His promotion of Jon Acuff is well deserved.  I am enjoying his book “Start” and look forward to reading some of his other works, namely “Quitter.”   Speaking of quitter, I find myself glancing over towards the pomodoro timer – as I feel like I’m running out of things to write about.  I want to quit writing tonight.

It’s worth noting that I want to be a writer (among other things) and therefore decided that tonight (like many other nights), I would be one.  It was time to START being a writer.  With the pomodoro timer up and my conclusions on tonights blog post drawn it is time to bid you goodnight and sweet dreams.

Stay tuned.

 

Leave a Reply

