Action Always Beats Intention – Part 2

“Reading on my old-school kindle, I am referencing some “practical, tactical steps you can take.”  Unfortunately, I don’t know how to pull up the page number of the book, but my kindle tells me that these steps are “84%” of the way through the book.  Please excuse my inability to operate my electronic book.  Perhaps I’ll try to learn the ins and outs of the device for future ease of reference – but for now we’ll have to deal with my hilarious attempts at describing what I’m actually referencing.

Step 1 was to buy a journal.  “You’ll keep walking in circles unless you document your experience.”  For me, I had been actively journaling and blogging for the past 12 months. 

Pomodoro Up.

Stay Tuned.”

And…we’re back (starting pomodoro timer NOW).

Step 2 was, “Answer the question, ‘What do my voices of fear and doubt tell me?’ Every time you bump into one, write it down.”   I temporarily got distracted pilfering through evernote for a note on David Allen’s GTD Note Taker wallet.  If I was a good blogger, I’d provide a nice link for you to follow, so that you can accurately identify what I’m thinking about…but this is fluff and would take us further off topic that we already are, so I’ll refrain from doing so which is probably what I bad blogger would do.  I suppose I am not really the best one to have an opinion on this matter, since I suppose I spend more time writing my own stupid blog than I do reading others.  For the times where I actually do sit down and read someone else’s blog, it often appears much, much better than my own.  But I digress…

Back to the question:

“Answer the question, ‘What do my voices of fear and doubt tell me?’ Every time you bump into one, write it down.”  

I’m a simple man and easily distracted, by little things like “every time you bump into one, write it down.”  For me, I’m taking Jon Acuff’s question and dumbing it down enough for me to wrap my head around.  I have a knack for making normally simple things into incredibly complicating matters and taking incredibly complicated matters and finding a solution.  Boom, maybe I’m bragging a little bit with the previous claim, but it sure sounds good and was quite easy to write. 

Back to the question, dumbed down for my benefit:

What do my voices of fear and doubt tell me?

I’m going to spend the rest of this pomodoro (roughly 15-20 minutes) trying to describe what my voices of fear and doubt tell me.  It’s more like what don’t my voices of fear and doubt tell me?

These voices  of fear and doubt sure are smooth talkers, aren’t they?  These are like the old friends that come around and invite you out for beer one night at a bar downtown.  What at first appears to be a good time with old acquaintances turns out to have completely unexpected results.  Next thing you know, you are sitting in a smoky hotel room playing poker…and you’re not sure how you got there.   Not only do you not know how you got there, but you see that your buddies fear and doubt have since folded and quit the game.     After realizing that these jokers that got you into this mess are just sitting there watching you go through hell…you also realize that you’re in this poker game and you’re no longer wearing pants.  When you come to that reality…it hits you hard and you “come to” quickly.  The point of this stupid analogy is that the voices of fear and doubt are just like this, just like a smooth talker. 

Perhaps a more accurate description of the voices of fear and doubt is this:

The voices of fear and doubt are like cancer.

This is likely going to be a controversial statement.  Many friends and family members (including myself) have had someone pass away from cancer.  I don’t make this analogy because I am not sympathetic towards cancer victims.  I make this analogy because of how deeply this resonates with all of us on some kind of level.  The voices of fear and doubt are like cancer…often times they show up undetected at first – only become known when the damage is irreparable.   All too often, the result of cancer is death.

This is a strong analogy, but I believe it to also be an accurate one.  If we succumb to the voices of fear and doubt, our life often becomes dull, boring and meaningless.  For a while, this isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  Besides, we worked so hard to ensure that we got all of this.

Pomodoro up.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

