“There will be dragons.” – The Start Experiment and Beyond – Part 1

This post is specifically written for those who are a part of The Start Experiment.

Eventually, I’d like to get to a point where I am self-reliant in terms of food production.  What little I do have to buy, I can barter for and/or use silver as a means of exchange.  I would like to run and operate a small hydroponic supply distribution warehouse along with involvement of selling certain vitamins and health supplements?   There are many ideas, but perhaps it could be a health/wellness/self-sufficiency/edible landscaping/permaculture design/online store where I sell and stock the items and then simply control the sales and distribution of the products? 

Perhaps my dream over the next 24 days would be to fine tune and develop the business plan / proposal to provide to my parents?  Hmm

Stay tuned.

Well, after writing this last night, I effectively copied and pasted the end of last nights’ musings as I completed the survey today at work.   The survey was provided by Jon Acuff and his team of awesome seekers and given to some 3,000 of us guinea pigs.  We are part of The Start Experiment.

What is “The Start Experiment?”  This is a good question…one I believe that I tried to cover in previous blog posts.  I don’t think anyone can accurately describe what is taking place here in this experiment.  For me, this is a total trip.  After re-joining facebook 2 months ago after an 8 month social network hiatus…this is like jumping into the deep end of the social network globosphere.  Wow.

Well…here we go – it’s time to START. 

Like you, I have really enjoyed what is taking place here within The Start Experiment.  I have connected with people in ways that simply seem “appropriate” for my life at this time.  While we are still in the beginning phases of The Start Experiment.  Here’s a direct link to The Start Experiment on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/559925787386687/ – I find that if I transfer the links directly in this manner, it transfers over regardless of the platform on which I’m typing. 

At any rate…here we are.  The Start Experiment has resulted in a tremendous amount of people corresponding with one another via a “group” on facebook.  This has been interesting, to say the least.  Just like many others, we are sharing personal photos, our blogs and some of our deepest and darkest secrets with total strangers.  In a sense, it feels strangely liberating…even though I have nothing to hide.  With that said, I suppose I’m safe from the NSA (don’t even get me started).

All of these people corresponding with one another through facebook as a result of The Start Experiment has been astounding!  I have shared some of my blog posts here and actually received some responses from recently beginning to share the blog that I write.  Earlier today, I received a message that read as follows:

Hey Adventurer Rob!

I saw your post about the health accomplishments you have recently had! Well done, it sounds like you have really created some awesome lifestyle habits that are supporting you!

The part of your recent list that also caught my eye is the land lease for developing the homestead on your families farm. I would love to add you as a friends on FB as my dream is to create a farm for teaching and building community where I live.

My goal is to have a place where people can come to learn how to work with the land, how our food grows and then harvest and prepare it themselves.

Not yet owning land myself I am exploring any option for how this could look (grant to buy farm land, work with an existing farmer, etc). I would love to hear more about your experience and encourage you along the way!

In Adventure and Fear-Punching! 
(name withheld)

First of all, receiving a message like this was AMAZING!  It’s really nice to receive feedback on any level, especially when it’s about your passion and especially when a recent relationship has gone south and you think you may actually talk (or write) in circles.   It is truly refreshing to correspond with someone that has similar shared interests!  Very exciting!

My response was as follows:

Hi (name withheld),

First of all, thank you for the compliments about the recent accomplishments and positive lifestyle choices. I’m far from perfect, but I’m trying.

Yes, development of a homestead is a long time dream of mine (since college). The fact that it would take place on my family’s “farm” is a bit of a misleading thing.

A few years ago, my parents (in their 60’s) decided to buy 20 acres and try to become farmers. They were an average, white-collar suburban couple in their 60’s making MAJOR life changes.

The “farm” is pretty undeveloped. 1/4 of the 20 acres was previously corn/beans and the soil is in pretty rough shape. I am looking to lease approximately 1 of the 20 acres and pursue my own homestead dreams, while helping my parents accomplish their dreams as well.

Our goals of having a place where we have learned to become self-reliant and subsequently teaching others the same skills we have acquired are very much the same. This is very important to me.

Like you, I do not own land, but regardless of my family situation – I would be going through the same process at this stage in life. I would likely try to lease land and make a stand at being much more self-reliant.

For months, I have been looking at different options on how to homestead with limited resources and a limited skill set…It it my dream to share this knowledge with others who wish to learn it.

Look forward to making the world a better place with you!
Rob

This is the God’s honest truth.  Anyone that knows me understands that I occasionally (?!) rant about the state of our nation and our future.  In a nutshell, I have come to believe that our society is on the brink of collapse.  I’m not really referring to “zombie apocalypse” type of collapse, but I am quickly learning that “zombie apocalypse” is kind of code for people that may potentially be of like mind.  However, be warned that frequent talk of the zombie apocalypse might result in weird looks from friends and families.  They may even go so far as to talk about you behind you back, etc.

At any rate, lest I digress into another rant about the decline of our socio-politial globosphere, let me return to the discussion about correspondence with like-minded people via The Start Experiment.  This correspondence is leading to increased connections and “friends” on facebook.  Many people (including myself) scoff at facebook and what it represents… I suppose that as long as facebook as an integral part of our society, I will use it.  However, I am also preparing for a time when there will be no facebook – through my own choice…or not.

Because of my desire to use facebook  (and social media such as wordpress, etc), I am realizing that connections such as the one outlined above can take place with very little energy expended.  Many thanks to Jon Acuff for writing a book that was the catalyst for connections like this to take place.  These connections that I talk about are beginning a sort of “snowball” that I would like to see continue rolling.  As I sat down at the computer to work on my “notes” in Evernote (The Secret Weapon style…of course) – I checked into facebook briefly…  Before you continue reading, I’d like to kindly suggest that you re-read the italicized post above. 

Again, I’d like to suggest that you re-read the above correspondence between myself and the mystery person out there in the interwebs.  After re-reading the above, also consider the fact that I have talked with my mom about potentially hosting “meetup” groups out there to spread the knowledge we learn in order to share in the community that we build and support.  My parents seem very “into” the ideas that I present and the lifestyle that I am currently trying to lead.  I have begun taking these ideas and developing action plans that have been on the “Someday” list.  Due to The Start Experiment…that “someday” is now.  It is time to START.

After going to the great lengths to share “the experience” with you, I suspect that I am nearing the end of the pomodoro for my writing.  Last pomodoro was spend dealing with stupid work stuff and sending emails about billable hours to a specific cost center for an assignment and meeting where I was requested to be present at.  The manager for that cost center appears to be “playing games” and refusing to pay me for the hours I billed for.  It could be a simple mistake…it could be one of the many reasons contributing to my decision to work towards leaving this “corporate management” lifestyle.

Now it is time to START.

Pomodoro up.

Stay tuned.

 

Leave a Reply

