Writing a Mission and Vision Statement (Part 2)

In Writing a Mission and Vision Statement (Part 1), I made progress with the writing of my mission statement.

The Mission Statements and Vision Statements article suggests that to “create your mission statement, first identify your organization’s “winning idea”.  This is the idea or approach that will make your organization stand out from its competitors, and is the reason that customers will come to you and not your competitors (see tip below).”

I have further identified my organization as the homestead that I will be creating on the land that is known as York Meadow Farm.  This homestead has been named and will be referred to as the Primal Gnomestead.  The “winning idea” that Mind Tools suggests we identify is as follows:  To become a leader in the self-reliance and sustainability movement in Northeast Ohio (by freely sharing knowledge gained by the implementation of permaculture design principles into my future homestead.)  In part 1, we followed the steps outlined in the article and refined that winning idea into what has become the mission statement of the Primal Gnomestead.  The “winning idea” seemed like a great start, but I decided to refine my mission statement into a single sentence.

Mission:

To begin learning the skill set necessary to lead a more self-reliant, independent and sustainable lifestyle.

As previously stated in Part 1…I’m actually satisfied with this statement.  It is brief and to the point.  While the original example we looked at had “measurables” such as time frames (24 hours) and targets (98% customer satisfaction) which we identified earlier…the reality is that I think for the purposes of MY vision statement, I need to keep it a little more simple.  While I think that time frames and targets are important…I can always come back and refine this statement at a later date.

Next…I will focus on the creation of a Vision Statement.

Vision Statement Creation

  • Once you’ve created your mission statement, move on to create your vision statement:
  • First identify your organization’s mission. Then uncover the real, human value in that mission.  
  • Next, identify what you, your customers and other stakeholders will value most about how your organization will achieve this mission. Distill these into the values that your organization has or should have.  
  • Combine your mission and values, and polish the words until you have a vision statement inspiring enough to energize and motivate people inside and outside your organization.  
  • Using the example mission statement developed for Farm Fresh Produce, the owner examines what she, her customers and her employees value about her mission.  
  • The four most important things she identifies are: freshness, healthiness, tastiness and “local-ness” of the produce. Here’s the Vision Statement she creates and shares with employees, customers and farmers alike:

“We help the families of Main Town live happier and healthier lives by providing the freshest, tastiest and most nutritious local produce: From local farms to your table in under 24 hours.”

Last time around, this was the point that I left off writing and today, this is the point where I pick it up. In order to feel like I’m taking the “right” approach to this homestead and the methodology behind carrying out my dream, I feel like I want to break this down and put a lot of thought and effort into what I’m doing.  Hell – I am engaging in a major lifestyle change with this process.  I’ve spent the bulk of my life making decisions without fully engaging.  It is time to change behavior.  Since I’ve created my mission statement, it’s time to “uncover the real, human value in that mission.”

What is the real, human value in that mission?  This is simple!  the real, human value of my mission is precisely the “winning idea” of the Primal Gnomestead.  The real, human value is freely sharing the knowledge that I gain throughout this journey.  My objective with this entire homestead is to live a life that is more self-reliant and sustainable.  I believe that if we all take steps to do this in our lives, we restore the American ideal and begin repairing our broken country.  I feel incredibly passionate about this…and my passion is the “real, human value” that is mentioned in the article I reference.

The article suggests that we “identify what you, your customers and other stakeholders will value most about how your organization will achieve this mission. Distill these into the values that your organization has or should have.”  It’s important to fully understand this statement…we are identifying what we will value most about HOW we will achieve our mission of “…learning the skill set necessary to lead a more self-reliant, independent and sustainable lifestyle.”  

The way I’m understanding the instructions provided is that the manner in which we carry out the achievement of the objective is an important aspect of determining specifically what our vision statement is.  More on this next time around…

Stay tuned.

One thought on “Writing a Mission and Vision Statement (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: The First Day of the Rest of Your Life – Episode 0007 – “Bridging the Gap” | The Nameless Wayfarer

Leave a Reply

